Declaration of Independence from the Occupation

Declared on Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 16 Rothschild Blvd. in Tel Aviv, the location where the Israeli Declaration of Independence was made in May, 1948

The land of Israel was the birthplace of the Jewish People, where Jewish identity was shaped. Palestine was the birthplace of the Palestinian People where Palestinian identity was shaped.

On a Friday 63 years ago, Israel’s Declaration of Independence was read here. The declaration promised “complete equality of social and political rights to all its inhabitants irrespective of religion, race or sex”. The declaration reached out for peace with all our neighbors. The declaration was based on the UN’s partition plan, which called for the foundation of two states in the land of Israel – a Jewish democratic nation state and an Arab democratic nation state. It is the natural right of the Israeli and the Palestinian peoples “to be masters of their own fate, like all other nations, in their own sovereign State”.

Therefore we are here assembled, on April 21st, 2011, to welcome the coming Declaration of Independence of the Palestinian State, neighboring upon the state of Israel, according to our borders of independence shaped at the end of the War of Independence in 1949 - the borders known today as the 1967 borders.

The independence of both peoples mutually strengthens them. It is both a moral and an existential necessity, and it is the basis for the possibility of good neighborhood. We call upon all the citizens of Israel, the Knesset, the Government, all the citizens of the world and their governments, to recognize the two states, in which the right of the two peoples to self determination is expressed, as well as the general principles of democracy and equality.

We, the undersigned, call upon every peace and freedom seeker and all nations – to welcome the Palestinian Declaration of Independence, to extend a helping hand and encourage the citizens of the two states to maintain peace based on the 1967 borders and other mutually agreed upon arrangements. The complete end of occupation is a fundamental condition for the freedom of both peoples, for the fulfillment of the Israeli Declaration of Independence – and for the independence of the State of Israel.

Among the first signatories:

Larry Abramson
Dr. Janet Aviad
Prof. Judith Buber Agassi
Prof. Joseph Agassi
Shulamit Aloni, Israel Prize laureate
Dr.Yehuda Atai
Prof. Yehuda Bauer, Israel Prize laureate
Dr. Gershon Baskin
Prof. Menachem Brinker, Israel Prize laureate
Prof. Naomi Chazan
Yael Dayan
Latif Dori
Ariel Ezrahi,
Prof. Yaron Ezrahi
Prof. Yehuda Elkana
Yona Fischer, Israel Prize laureate
Tsibi Geva
Prof. Galia Golan
Prof. Chaim Gans
Tal Gutfeld
Yair Garbuz, Emet Prize laureate
Yachin Hirsch
Prof. Ruth Hacohen
Prof. David Harel, Emet and Israel Prizes laureate
Prof. Dan Jacobson
Prof. Yehoshua Kolodny, Israel Prize laureate
Dani Karavan, Israel Prize laureate
Avner Katz
Gadi Kenny
Alex Levak, Israel Prize laureate
Ofer Lalush
Sami Michael, Emet Prize laureate
Dr. Ruhama Marton
Hillel Mittelpunkt
Hanna Maron, Israel Prize laureate
Ohad Naharin, Israel Prize laureate
Yariv Oppenheimer
Dorit Peleg
Michal Peleg
Ari Pulman
Prof. Dov Pekelman
Prof. Itamar Procaccia, Israel Prize laureate
Sefi Rachlevsky
Eyal Raviv
Mossi Raz
Naftali Raz
Yehoshua Sobol
Prof. Gabi Salomon, Israel Prize laureate
Prof. David Shulman, Emet Prize laureate
Prof. Zeev Sternhell, Israel Prize laureate
Dr. Ziva Sternhell
Hillel Schenker
Ziona Shimshi
Dr. Alla Shainskaya
David Tartakover, Israel Prize laureate
Micha Ullman, Israel Prize laureate
Doron Vilner
Prof. Yirmiyahu Yovel, Israel Prize laureate
Shoshana Yovel
Prof. Menahem Yaari, former President of the Israel Academy of Sciences,
Israel Prize laureate
Klil Zisapel
Dan Zur, Israel Prize laureate
Prof. Zeev Zachor

SSL Certificates